Rare social commentary

I’m going to take a rare foray into commenting on society. I generally don’t concern myself too much with these matters, preferring to focus most of my energies instead on scientific topics. But, this verges on personal, so please bare with me.
Sometimes Facebook does provide some interesting reads, which is mainly why I continue to keep it around despite my distaste for it (there’s probably some Fe driven need to have it around, just in case). In this particular case (having thought about this issue a great deal over the past few years) I was captivated by the following article that some friends were posting:
Reading (or parts of it– it’s pretty long and I got bored while searching for her point, deciding mid-way to come to my own conclusions) her gripping tale of trying to find the right balance between work, home life and taking care of one’s individual needs, at the same time as balancing society’s expectations of women in the workplace kind of struck a cord, although I had never really looked at myself as a person trying to match up with some arbitrarily defined “social expectation”. Her dramatic change in perspective on whether women can actually “have it all” in today’s society after spending 2 years working 16 hours or more per day, commuting home on the weekend to take care of her husband and teenage boys prompted me to question “did her stressful lifestyle prompt her very own grip experience with her inferior function ???”. I don’t think she mentions this insight in her article, but the dramatic change in point of view and her new found desire to spread her new vision about how society must adapt around women’s needs to the next generation of young women certainly sounds like it (I am now constantly battling between the urge to tell everyone, including LO, about personality types, wanting to share my knowledge because I think it will help (Fe) and the thought that “well, it’s way more interesting to find out for yourself and most people won’t listen or believe it or even be able to type themselves properly if they haven’t been forced to do some deep, introspective thinking (Ti)”. We don’t spend nearly enough time thinking about ourselves (what drives us? where do our goals come from? Do they come from the internal or external world? Is this really what I want out of life?).
I’m not sure I agree with her new perspective though– for one, it will be pretty hard to convince people that there needs to be a societal change. I’m guessing most people are on “auto-pilot” going through life meeting one goal after the other without really feeling “satisfied” or “whole”. They are not going to want to hear about “change”. They prefer not to have to think too much about whether and why they are stressed (sometimes stress can feel “good”, at least for a while and especially if you escape reality by having affairs) and how they could modify their lives in order to meet their basic emotional needs and thereby reduce stress.
In reality, we can’t measure ourselves against anyone else’s vision of “having it all”. I’m not even sure where that concept came from in the first place.  We all need to individually define what “having it all” means to us, and work hard to secure these basic needs in our lifestyles. Only then will we start to see change. It might be subtle at first, but I’m sure a world full of less stressed out personalities, with every one happy, efficient and productive since they have found their rightful place in society could pretty much solve a lot of the world’s problems. At least I’d like to imagine it could– although the thought of potentially being able to “type” people at birth and rear them as such does irk me (don’t tell me what I want to do I want to figure that out for myself! Life is a journey, let each individual “live” and “experience” it for themselves). Maybe I’m just asking for an increase in society’s awareness of “type” and the importance for people to figure out not what turns them on in the bedroom but what turns them on inside their minds?
Anyway, I posted a comment on Facebook (not usually my style). I was perhaps naive (Fe) to think that anyone would care/comment on what I was sharing (but this is what is interesting people!!!– listen to me dammit!!!).
” This piece, although perhaps not meant to be, is an interesting commentary on how each of us, as individuals, make choices and what values/thoughts/personal experiences and emotions come into play (whether driven from our external or internal world). She also hits on, perhaps subconsciously, the interesting interplay between chronic stress (who wouldn’t be stressed with her schedule and life-style?), the decision-making process and the need to redefine one’s perspective on life and individual priorities. “Society” and “other people” may well criticize this shift but how is the outside world supposed to judge an individual’s own emotional needs and values? Perhaps the younger generation is right, and we need to wait to figure ourselves out before making important decisions on careers, life partners and family. And who’s to say that the current way society is run is the “right” way? Women need to stop comparing themselves to men (we are biologically different and will be driven by different things) and to other women (all of us will value different things and will need to think long and hard about what makes us truly happy). “
Tags: ,

About intpblogger

I'm a 29 year old female currently wrapping up my PhD in Neuroscience, which looked at the molecular underpinnings of learning and memory. I've just recently stumbled upon the fascinating world of personality types and how our type guides our perception of the world, the people around us and the decisions we make. I'm especially interested in the process through which neuromodulators, released during periods of stress, bonding and romantic love/limerence influence our personalities (and how this might differ between types). My posts will be based on a mixture of thoughts, personal experiences, ideas and things I've read along the way. Since I've traditionally stuck to the molecular/cellular side of neuroscience and possibly scoffed at social psychology in the past (ashamed) I only "discovered" Myers-Briggs theory and myself a week ago, after a seemingly long period of a what I would call an "identity crisis". But more on that later. As an INTP (I think), I'd like to think I have some unique insight to share with all of you, but I don't necessarily think I hold all the answers nor will I be able to express them as clearly as some would wish. So, I welcome all clarifications, challenges, criticisms, different perspectives, thoughts, personal experiences from other INTPs as well as all other personality types that choose to join me on this journey. The idea here is to gain insight into my mind and the mind of others through the mutual sharing of ideas, thoughts and experiences. Onwards.

Leave a Reply

